Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

History of the Institute of Electrical Engineering

The Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI)

of the Grand Ducal Technical University of Karlsruhe

 

1894 Engelbert Arnold's appointment as the first full professor of electrical engineering in Karlsruhe to the Chair of Power Engineering and Electrical Machines.

Arnold was born in 1856 in Switzerland, the second of the nine children. His father was a farmer. Arnold studied mechanical engineering from 1874 to 1878 at the Federal Polytechnic Institute in Zurich, Switzerland. He completed his habilitation in 1883 at the Polytechnic Institute in Riga, Russia. His first book on the armature winding of DC-machines appeared 1891. In the same year he accepted a position as chief engineer at the Swiss Oerlikon Maschinenfabrik.

Simultaneously with the appointment of Arnold to Karlsruhe the Department of Electrical Engineering was founded in the fall of 1894. In the first winter semester there were 43 students. Until the turn of the century the number of students increased to about 200.

Arnold was appointed Privy Councilor in 1905 and in 1906 he received an honorary doctorate from the Technical University of Hanover.

During Arnold's work in Karlsruhe a comprehensive, fundamental publication on alternating current and direct current machine technology appeared in eight volumes. The books contain over 5000 pages of text and over 3,000 illustrations. They are published by the Springer-Verlag.

Engelbert Arnold led the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) until his untimely death in 1911 at the age of 55 years.

Bild_Arnold

1896 Construction of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) on the former parade place of the dragoons behind the original site of the technical university.

Mai 1899

Inauguration of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) at the Karlsruhe University through the Institute founder Engelbert Arnold in the presence of His Royal Highness the Grand Duke Frederick.

The construction costs amounted to around half a million marks, including laboratory facilities (including 12 DC machines, 13 AC machines and 6 transformers).

Bild_Architektur_ETI

Bild_ETI_1899

The Institute building around 1899

 

Bild_Maschinensaal_1899

 Machine shop around 1899

 

1894 Rudolf Richter was appointed to the Chair of Electrical Machines and takes over the leadership of the ETI, which he held until 1947.

Richter was born in 1877 in Fürstenwalde at the river Spree. After studying at the University of Berlin and the Technical University in Charlottenburg, he worked from 1900 to 1908 for Siemens & Halske in Leopoldau in Vienna and for Siemens-Schuckert in Berlin-Charlottenburg. From 1908 to 1912 he established the Railway Department of the Maffei Schwartzkopff company in Berlin and became the technical director. In October 1912 Richter receives an appointment as professor of electrical engineering at the University in Karlsruhe. He retired in 1947 and died 1957. Richter received an honorary doctorate from the Technical University Darmstadt.

While working in Karlsruhe, Richter wrote a five-volume reference work on the entire field of electrical engineering including transformers, which is known until present time.

Bild_Richter

1917 Theodor Boveri, son of Walter E. Boveri (one of the founders of the BBC, now ABB), produced his thesis at the ETI in 1917. At first he worked for his family's company before switching to the Motor-Columbus AG, Baden in Aargau, in 1933. Motor-Columbus was also founded by his father and dealt with the construction of power plants. He held the position of Chairman from 1951 until 1970. Theodor Boveri received an honorary doctorate from the University of Karlsruhe in 1949 and died 1977.

Sept. 1944

In the war, the Institute building burned to the basement. At war's end, only the perimeter was standing. Most apparatus and the largest part of the library were lost. The electric machines were severely damaged, but could be repaired partly in the own workshop.
1947 Friedrich Stier succeeds Richter on the Chair of Power Engineering and Electrical Machines and as the Director of the ETI. He holds this position until his death in 1961.

Stier was born in 1899 and came from Ellwangen a.d. Jagst. He studied at the technical universities of Stuttgart, Karlsruhe and Berlin. He received his doctorate in Berlin in 1932 and worked as a design engineer and later as head of the testing field of the Berlin Dynamowerke for Siemens-Schuckert.

Bull died in 1961 after a long illness.

Bild_Stier

1948
After the war, the Institute of Electric Engineering was rebuilt. A number of electrical machines, control panels, etc. were recovered from the rubble of the ETI and the workshop was repaired. Until the currency reform of 1948, the ceiling of the upper floor was recovered and the roof has been placed. In the winter semester 1948/49 the machine shop was prepared, allowing the laboratory exercises to resume. A year later, the two classrooms were usable again. The renewal of the cable network, the marble control panels, the battery and other laboratory equipment lasted until the late fifties for financial reasons.

1955

Promotion of Herbert Weh at the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI).

Weh studied electrical engineering at the Technical University of Karlsruhe since 1947. In 1954 he became Head of Development Department of Schorch-Werke in Mönchengladbach and from 1961 to 1995 Head of the Institute of Electrical Machines, Drives and trains at the TU Braunschweig. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Weh was known primarily for his work in the field of transverse flux and the magnetic levitation technology. He is considered one of the fathers of the Transrapid.

1960

To bridge the time of disease of Prof. Stier the management of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) was transferred to the then chief engineer, Adolf Priess, under supervision of Prof. Dr. Lau, Acting Director of the High Voltage Institute. Priess was assistant since 1954 and remained chief engineer of the ETI until 1966. He changed to the Nuremberg machinery and equipment sector of Siemens AG, where he worked until his retirement in 1990 as department head.
1962 Hans Prassler takes over the Chair of Power Engineering and Electrical Machines and the position as Director of ETI, which he held until his sudden death in 1976.

Praßler was born in 1913 in Löwenstein in the district of Heilbronn. In Stuttgart he studied electrical engineering. He then worked at the Siemens-Schuckert plant in Berlin as design engineer. After the war he was an assistant to the ETI and later became chief engineer of Prof. Stier. He received his doctorate in 1949 and his habilitation in 1956 for the subject of electrical engineering. In the following year Prassler returned to Siemens Dynamowerk in Berlin but remained connected to the University of Karlsruhe by a lecture in electrical engineering. Five years later Praßler was named director of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI).

With Hans Praßler the research field of the Institute has changed and expanded. The emerging energy-related areas of power electronics and variable-speed electric drives have pushed back the classic electrical machinery engineering. The dynamic modeling of electrical machines and their control by power electronic semiconductors became important tasks of the ETI.

Bild_Prassler

1976 Helmut Späth was appointed professor and acting head of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI).

Späth was born in 1935 in Karlsruhe. After an apprenticeship as an electrical power engineer, he studied electrical engineering in Karlsruhe and received his doctorate in 1967 with Prof. Prassler. In 1974 came the Habilitation for the subject "Electrical machines and power converters."

Späth was retired in 2000 but is still actively involved in the research work of the ETI.

Bild_Spaeth

1979 Manfred Meyer was appointed to the Chair of Electrical Drives and Power Electronics and appointed as director of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI). He held these positions until his retirement in 1993. Meyer was born in Berlin in 1928 and studied electrical engineering from 1948 until 1953 at the Technical University of Berlin. After his graduation in 1956 he was active with the Siemens AG until 1979, most recently as head of the laboratory and test field as well as head of the technical part of the construction department at the Nuremberg machinery and apparatus work. From 1981 to 1990, Meyer, was chairman of the DKE committee "Electromagnetic compatibility" and the German speakers in the appropriate committee of the IEC. Manfred Meyer died shortly after his retirement in 1993.

Bild_Meyer

1994 Michael Braun is currently the director of the Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI). Brown was born in 1954 in Fulda and studied electrical engineering at the Technical University of Darmstadt, where he graduated in 1983 with a thesis on direct (matrix) converters at the Institute for Power Electronics and Drives. From 1983 to 1994 he worked at Siemens AG, most recently as head of department for basic development in the equipment factory in Erlangen.

Bild_Braun

2011 Martin Doppelbauer is appointed as professor for Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEV) to the ETI.

Doppelbauer was born in 1965 in South Westphalia and studied electrical engineering at the University of Dortmund. After his graduation in 1995 he worked at Bauer Drive Technology GmbH in Esslingen, from 2002 he was head of electric motor development at the SEW Eurodrive GmbH & Co KG in Bruchsal. Doppelbauer is chairman of the standardization committee 'Rotating electrical machines' (K311) in the DKE and German speaker to IEC and CENELEC TC2.

Bild_Doppelbauer

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Historie des Elektrotechnischen Instituts

Das Elektrotechnische Institut

der Grossherzoglichen Technischen Hochschule zu Karlsruhe

1894 Berufung Engelbert Arnolds als ersten ordentlichen Professor für Elektrotechnik auf den Lehrstuhl für Starkstromtechnik und Elektrische Maschinen.
Arnold wurde 1856 in der Schweiz als zweites von neun Kindern geboren. Der Vater war Landwirt. Arnold studierte von 1874 bis 1878 am Eidgenössischen Polytechnikum in Zürich Maschinenbau. Er habilitierte 1883 am Polytechnikum in Riga. Sein erstes Buch über die Ankerwicklung von Gleichstrommaschinen erschien 1891. Im gleichen Jahr nahm er eine Stellung als Oberingenieur an der Schweizer Maschinenfabrik Oerlikon an.
Gleichzeitig mit der Berufung Arnolds nach Karlsruhe wurde im Herbst 1894 die elektrotechnische Abteilung gegründet. Sie hatte im ersten Wintersemester 43 Studierende. Bis zur Jahrhundertwende steigerte sich die Studierendenzahl auf etwa 200.
Arnold wurde 1905 zum Geheimen Hofrat ernannt und erhielt 1906 die Ehrendoktorwürde der Technischen Hochschule Hannover.
Im Laufe von Arnolds Tätigkeit in Karlsruhe entstand ein acht Bände umfassendes, grundlegendes Werk über Wechselstromtechnik und Gleichstrommaschinen, das über 5000 Textseiten und über 3000 Abbildungen enthält und im Springer-Verlag erschienen ist.
Engelbert Arnold leitete das Elektrotechnische Institut bis zu seinem frühen Tode 1911 im Alter von 55 Jahren.

Bild_Arnold

1896 Baubeginn des Elektrotechnischen Instituts auf dem ehemaligen Exerzierplatz der Dragoner hinter dem ursprünglichen Grundstück der technischen Hochschule.

Mai 1899

Einweihung des Elektrotechnischen Instituts an der Fridericiana durch den Institutsgründer Engelbert Arnold im Beisein seiner Königlichen Hoheit Großherzog Friedrich.
Die Baukosten beliefen sich auf rund ½ Million Reichsmark einschließlich der Laboreinrichtungen (unter anderem 12 Gleichstrommaschinen, 13 Wechselstrommaschinen und 6 Transformatoren).
Bild_Architektur_ETI

Bild_ETI_1899

 Abb.: Das Elektrotechnische Institut um 1899

Bild_Maschinensaal_1899

 Abb.: Maschinensaal um 1899

 

1912 Rudolf Richter wird auf den Lehrstuhl für Elektrische Maschinen berufen und übernimmt die Institutsleitung, die er bis 1947 innehat.
Richter wurde 1877 in Fürstenwalde a.d. Spree geboren. Nach seinem Studium an der Universität Berlin und der techn. Hochschule in Charlottenburg war er zunächst von 1900 bis 1908 bei Siemens & Halske in Leopoldau bei Wien und den Siemens-Schuckert-Werken in Berlin-Charlottenburg tätig. Von 1908 bis 1912 war er technischer Leiter der Bahnabteilung der Maffei-Schwartzkopff-Werke in Berlin, die er selbst aufbaute. Im Oktober 1912 erhält Richter die Berufung als ordentlicher Professor für Elektrotechnik an die Techn. Hochschule in Karlsruhe, 1947 wurde er emeritiert und verschied 1957. Von der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt erhielt Richter die Ehrendoktorwürde.
Richter verfasste während seiner Tätigkeit in Karlsruhe ein bis in die heutige Zeit bekanntes fünfbändiges Standardwerk über den gesamten Elektromaschinenbau einschließlich der Transformatoren.

Bild_Richter

1917 Theodor Boveri, Sohn von Walther E. Boveri (einem der Firmengründer der BBC, heute ABB), fertigte 1917 seine Diplomarbeit am ETI an. Er stieg danach in den elterlichen Betrieb ein und wechselte 1933 zur Motor-Columbus AG aus Baden im Aargau, die sich mit dem Kraftwerksbau befasste und ebenfalls von seinem Vater gegründet wurde. Dort hatte er von 1951 bis 1970 die Position des Verwaltungsratspräsidenten inne. Theodor Boveri erhielt 1949 die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Karlsruhe und verstarb 1977.

Sept. 1944

Durch Kriegseinwirkung brannte das Institutsgebäude bis zum Kellergeschoss aus. Bei Kriegsende standen nur noch die Umfassungsmauern. Die Einrichtung und der größte Teil der Bibliothek gingen verloren. Auch die Maschinen wurden schwer mitgenommen, konnten aber zum Teil in der eigenen Werkstatt wieder instand gesetzt werden.
1947 Friedrich Stier wird Nachfolger von Richter auf dem Lehrstuhl für Starkstromtechnik und Elektrische Maschinen und in der Institutsleitung, die er bis 1961 innehatte.
Stier stammte aus Ellwangen a.d. Jagst (geboren 1899) und studierte an den Technischen Hochschulen in Stuttgart, Karlsruhe und Berlin. Er promovierte 1932 in Berlin und arbeitete vor seiner Berufung als Berechnungsingenieur und später als Leiter der Prüf- und Versuchsfelder des Berliner Dynamowerks der Siemens-Schuckert-Werke.
Stier verstarb 1961 nach schwerer Krankheit.

Bild_Stier

1948 Nach Kriegsende erfolgte der Neuaufbau des Elektrotechnischen Instituts. Etliche elektrische Maschinen, Schalttafeln u.a.m. wurden aus dem Schutt des ETI geborgen und von der Werkstatt wieder hergerichtet. Bis zur Währungsreform 1948 waren die Decke des Obergeschosses wieder eingezogen und der Dachstuhl aufgesetzt worden. Im WS 1948/49 war die Maschinenhalle notdürftig hergerichtet, so dass die Laboratoriumsübungen wieder aufgenommen werden konnten. Ein Jahr später waren auch die beiden Hörsäle wieder benutzbar. Die Erneuerung des Kabelnetzes, des noch aus Marmor aufgebauten Linienwählers, des Steuerleitungsvermittlers, der Batterie und der Laboreinrichtungen zog sich aus finanziellen Gründen bis in die späten fünfziger Jahre hin.

1955

Promotion von Herbert Weh am Elektrotechnischen Institut.
Weh studierte Elektrotechnik an der TH Karlsruhe ab 1947; er wurde 1954 Leiter der Entwicklungsabteilung der Schorch-Werke in Mönchengladbach und war von 1961 bis 1995 Leiter des Instituts für Elektrische Maschinen, Antriebe und Bahnen an der TU Braunschweig; Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Weh wurde vor allem bekannt durch seine Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Transversalflussmaschinen und der Magnetbahntechnik. Er gilt als einer der Väter des Transrapid.

1960

Zur Überbrückung der Krankheitszeit von Prof. Stier ab Herbst 1960 wurde unter kommissarischer Leitung von Prof. Dr. Lau, Direktor des Hochspannungsinstituts, die Verwaltung des Elektrotechnischen Instituts an den damaligen Oberingenieur, Adolf Priess, übertragen. Priess war seit 1954 Assistent und blieb bis 1966 Oberingenieur des ETI. Anschließend wechselte er in das Nürnberger Maschinen- und Apparatewerk der Siemens AG, wo er bis zu seiner Pensionierung 1990 als Abteilungsleiter tätig war.
1962 Hans Prassler übernimmt den Lehrstuhl für Starkstromtechnik und Elektrische Maschinen und auch die Institutsleitung, die er bis zu seinem plötzlichen Tode im Jahre 1976 innehat.
Prassler wurde 1913 in Löwenstein im Kreis Heilbronn geboren und studierte in Stuttgart Elektrotechnik. Anschließend arbeitete er bei den Siemens-Schuckert-Werken in Berlin als Berechnungsingenieur. Nach dem Kriege kam er als Assistent ans ETI und wurde später Oberingenieur bei Prof. Stier. Er promovierte 1949 und habilitierte sich 1956 für das Fach Elektromaschinenbau. Im folgenden Jahr kehrte Prassler zu Siemens ins Dynamowerk nach Berlin zurück, blieb der Universität Karlsruhe aber durch einen Lehrauftrag für Elektromaschinenbau verbunden. Weitere fünf Jahre später wurde Prassler zum Direktor des Elektrotechnischen Instituts ernannt.

Mit Hans Prassler hat sich das Arbeitsgebiet des Instituts gewandelt und erweitert. Die aufstrebenden energietechnischen Gebiete der Leistungselektronik und der drehzahlveränderbaren elektrischen Antriebe haben den klassischen Elektromaschinenbau zurückgedrängt. Die dynamische Modellierung der elektrischen Maschinen, ihre Steuerung mit leistungselektronischen Halbleitern und die regelungstechnische Beherrschung wurden wichtige Aufgaben des ETI.

Bild_Prassler

1976

Helmut Späth wird zum Professor und kommissarischen Leiter des Elektrotechnischen Instituts ernannt.
Späth wurde 1935 in Karlsruhe geboren. Nach einer Lehre als Starkstromtechniker studierte er Elektrotechnik in Karlsruhe und promovierte 1967 bei Prof. Prassler. Im Jahre 1974 folgte die Habilitation für das Lehrgebiet „Elektrische Maschinen und Stromrichter“.
Späth wurde im Jahr 2000 pensioniert und war bis zu seinem Tod Ende 2014 aktiv am Forschungsbetrieb im ETI beteiligt.

Bild_Spaeth

1979 Manfred Meyer wird auf das Ordinariat für Elektrische Antriebe und Leistungselektronik berufen und zum Direktor des Elektrotechnischen Instituts ernannt. Dieses Amt hat er bis zu seiner Pensionierung 1993 inne. Meyer wurde 1928 in Berlin geboren und studierte von 1948 bis 1953 Energietechnik an der TU Berlin. Nach seiner Promotion 1956 war er bis 1979 bei der Siemens AG tätig, zuletzt als Leiter des Labors und Versuchsfelder sowie des technischen Teils des Gerätebaus im Nürnberger Maschinen- und Apparatewerk. Von 1981 bis 1990 war Meyer Obmann des Kommitees „Elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit“ der DKE und deutscher Sprecher im entsprechenden Ausschuss bei IEC. Manfred Meyer verstarb kurz nach seiner Pensionierung im Jahre 1993.

Bild_Meyer

1994 Michael Braun wird Leiter des Elektrotechnischen Instituts. Braun wurde 1954 in Fulda geboren und studierte Elektrotechnik an der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt, wo er 1983 mit einer Arbeit über Direktumrichter am Institut für Stromrichtertechnik und Antriebsregelung promovierte. Von 1983 bis 1994 war er bei der Siemens AG tätig, zuletzt als Abteilungsleiter für Grundlagenentwicklung im Gerätewerk in Erlangen.

Bild_Braun

2011 Martin Doppelbauer wird als Professor für Hybridelektrische Fahrzeuge (HEV) ans ETI berufen.
Doppelbauer wurde 1965 in Südwestfalen geboren und studierte Elektrotechnik an der Universität Dortmund. Nach seiner Promotion im Jahre 1995 arbeitete er bei der Bauer Antriebstechnik GmbH in Esslingen a. Neckar, ab 2002 war er Leiter der Motorenentwicklung bei der SEW Eurodrive GmbH&Co KG in Bruchsal. Doppelbauer ist Obmann des Normungs-Komitees ‘Drehende elektrische Maschinen’ (K311) in der DKE und deutscher Sprecher bei IEC und CENELEC TC2.

Bild_Doppelbauer

2015 Marc Hiller wird als Professor für Leistungselektronische Systeme (PES) ans ETI berufen.
Hiller wurde 1974 in Wertheim am Main geboren und studierte Elektrotechnik an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Nach einem Jahr in der Entwicklung von Stromrichtern für Traktionsanwendungen wechselte er 1999 an die Universität der Bundeswehr München, wo er über Geschaltete Reluktanzantriebe am Institut für Elektrische Antriebstechnik promovierte. Von 2005 bis 2015  arbeitete er in verschiedenen Positionen in der Entwicklung von Stromrichtern für industrielle Anwendungen bei der Siemens AG, Nürnberg. Zuletzt war er dort für die Leistungsteilentwicklung von Mittelspannungsstromrichtern verantwortlich.

Bild_Hiller