Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Research

The Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) is part of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and consists of three chairs.

Electric Drives and Power Electronics

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Braun

 

Research Topics

Electric Drives

  • Modelling of electric drives
  • Field oriented control of electrical machines
  • Control of electrical machines in terms of torque, speed, angle
  • Characterisation of motors supplied by inverters

Converter Systems

  • Novel topologies: modular multilevel converters, matrix converter
  • Regenerative energy sources: power electronics for solar and wind energy
  • Power electronics for electromobility
  • Novel power semiconductors

Projects

Ongoing and finished projects, you can find on: Projects

Hybrid Electric Vehicles

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Doppelbauer

Electric motors have been known for 150 years and they are in industrial mass production for more than 100 years. However, the requirements for motors and power electronics for the automotive industry differs significantly from conventional designs. An optimized design of an electric drive train can only be achieved in an interdisciplinary context.

Research Groups

The research fields are split into three focus areas:

Struktogramm_HEV

Power density is of great importance for motors in automotive applications. This can be achieved by higher speeds, improved cooling, lightweight designs and other measures. In addition, the use of novel SMC materials, alternative concepts with low rotor inertia and the integration of power electronics in the electric motor is researched.

 

For more information see the project data sheet..

Due to the strong innovative character of electric and hybrid vehicles, the question of the optimal drive train topology has not been answered definitively. Solutions of this problem lie in the simulation-based optimization. This requires the modeling of the entire drive train from the battery to the wheel.

 

For more information see the
project data sheet.

By coupling analytical calculations with FEM-based analysis tools, application-specific parameters and motor geometry can be optimized. Through this methodology, the overall efficiency of the engine, but also its dynamic behavior in terms of noise and vibration levels are improved.

 

For more information see the
project data sheet.

 

 

 

Construction and testing of prototypes

 

Pruefstand_HEV

For the characterization of prototypes and for parameterization and validation of simulations, three test stands are in preparation. With 145 kW and 215 kW, speeds to 18,000 rpm rev / or 15,000 rev / min and torques of 270 Nm to 540 Nm they are an ideal match of the power range of hybrid and electric vehicles. In addition to studying the dynamics of electric motors, drive cycle analyzes can be performed.

 

 

 

Projects

The following page is a compilation of some ongoing projects: Projects

 

Power Electronic Systems

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marc Hiller

In order to increase energy efficiency and enhance operational features, electrical drives are increasingly operated with variable speed using power electronic converters. A major driver supporting this trend is the fast development of power semiconductors with continuously enhanced performance regarding switching speed and power losses.

But also in grid applications power electronic converters play an important role. Besides converters for wind and photovoltaic applications as well as HVDC transmission, power electronics improve the operation of modern grid structures. In contrast to the existing network structure, the grid of the future will be based on decentralized power generation. This will lead to meshed grids with a large production and storage capacity directly connected not only to the low voltage grid but also to the medium voltage and high voltage grid by power electronics. Converters will have to ensure the grid stability (frequency control, voltage control, grid restoration, system and operation management) associated with the requirement of high reliability and efficiency, low harmonics and low costs. New circuit topologies and power semiconductors enable promising solutions to replace or enhance the performance of conventional systems. Therefore, power electronics together with the digitalization of the grid are key enablers to realize the so-called “Energy Transition”.

 

With new fields of application the requirements of power electronic solutions regarding power density, functionality, reliability and efficiency become more demanding. In order to get an optimal result the converter has to designed in the context of the entire power electronic system. Besides the converter itself this includes all system components (storage, cooling, electrical machines, cables, transformers, filters etc.) as well as optimized control algorithms to ensure the system friendly operation of the converter. New applications very often require completely new approaches, which can be extensively investigated with the ETI infrastructure for modelling, simulation and hardware validation of power electronic systems.

 

Competencies

  • Electrical and thermal converter design & calculation
  • Qualification of LV/MV power semiconductors
  • Topology design (power and control)
  • Control algorithms for grid and motor applications / Software development
  • Prototyping: Design, Manufacturing, Test
  • Test setup design and prototype verification

 

Projects

The following page is a compilation of some ongoing projects: Projects

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forschung am Elektrotechnischen Institut

Das Elektrotechnische Institut (ETI) gehört zur Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik innerhalb des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und besteht aus drei Professuren.

Elektrische Antriebe und Leistungselektronik

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Braun

Bild_Leistungselektronik

 

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Elektrische Antriebe 

  • Modellierung elektrischer Maschinen
  • Feldorientierte Steuerung und Regelung elektrischer Maschinen
  • Umrichterspeisung elektrischer Maschinen
  • Regelung elektrischer Maschinen in Drehmoment, Drehzahl und Winkel

Leistungselektronik 

  • Neue Schaltungskonzepte: Multilevel-Umrichter, Matrixumrichter
  • Neue Leistungshalbleiterbauelemente
  • Neue passive Bauelemente

Stromrichtersysteme 

  • Regenerative Energien: Umrichter für Solar- und Windenergie
  • Netzfreundliche Einspeisung mit PFC (= Power Factor Controller) und AFE (= Active Front End)
  • Leistungselektronik für Fahrzeuge
  • Energieversorgung und Verteilung

Mechatronik 

  • Integration von elektrischen und mechanischen Systemen

 

Projekte

Eine Auswahl laufender und abgeschlossener Projekte finden Sie unter: Projekte

Hybridelektrische Fahrzeuge

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Doppelbauer

Elektromotoren sind seit 150 Jahren bekannt und seit über 100 Jahren für den Industrieeinsatz in Serienproduktion. Die Anforderungen an Motoren und Leistungselektronik für die Automobilindustrie unterscheiden sich jedoch wesentlich von denen, die ein Industrieantrieb erfüllen muss. Die optimierte Auslegung des elektrischen Antriebsstranges kann deshalb nur im interdisziplinären Gesamtkontext erfolgen.

Forschungsgruppen

Die Forschungsarbeiten gliedern deshalb in mehrere Bereiche:

Struktogramm_HEV

 

Für die Anwendung im Kraftfahrzeug ist das Thema Leistungsdichte stark in den Fokus gerückt. Diese lässt sich unter anderem durch höhere Drehzahlen, verbesserte Kühl- und Leichtbaukonzepte erreichen. Daneben wird auch der Einsatz neuartiger SMC-Materialien, alternative Rotorkonzepte mit niedrigem Trägheitsmoment und die Integration der Leistungselektronik in den Elektromotor untersucht.

Weitere Informationen befinden sich auf dem Projektblatt.

Durch den starken Innovationscharakter der Elektro- und Hybridfahrzeuge ist die Frage der optimalen Antriebstopologie für die jeweilige Anwendung nicht endgültig beantwortet. Lösungsansätze dieser Problemstellung liegen in der simulationsbasierten Optimierung. Diese erfordert die Modellierung des gesamten Antriebsstrangs von der Batterie bis zum Rad.

Weitere Informationen befinden sich auf dem Projektblatt.

Durch die Kopplung bekannter analytischer Berechnungsverfahren mit FEM-gestützten Tools können anwendungsspezifisch Parameter und die Motorgeometrie optimiert werden. Durch diese Methodik kann der Gesamtwirkungsgrad des Motors aber auch sein dynamisches Verhalten hinsichtlich der Geräusch- und Vibrationsentwicklung verbessert werden.

Weitere Informationen befinden sich auf dem Projektblatt.

 

 

 

Prototypenbau und Prüfung

Pruefstand_HEVZur Charakterisierung von Prototypen sowie zur Parametrierung und Validierung von Simulationen stehen zwei Prüfstände zur Verfügung. Sie decken mit 145 kW bzw. 215 kW, sowie Drehzahlen bis 18.000 U/min bzw. 15.000 U/min und Drehmomenten von 270 Nm bzw. 540 Nm den Leistungsbereich von Hybrid- und Elektrofahrzeugen ab. Neben der Untersuchung der Dynamik von Elektromotoren können Analysen basierend auf realen Belastungsszenarien durchgeführt werden.

 

Mehr Informationen über die Kompetenzen und Ausstattung des Elektrotechnischen Instituts finden Sie hier.

Projekte

Eine Auswahl laufender und abgeschlossener Projekte finden Sie unter: Projekte

Leistungselektronische Systeme

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marc Hiller

Zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und zur Verbesserung der Betriebsführung werden elektrische Antriebe zunehmend drehzahlvariabel ausgeführt – ein anhaltender Trend, der maßgeblich durch die rasante Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der Leistungshalbleiter unterstützt wird. Aber auch aus Anwendungen in der Energieerzeugung und –verteilung sind leistungselektronische Stellglieder mit ihren vielseitigen Möglichkeiten bei der Umformung elektrischer Energie mittlerweile nicht mehr weg zu denken. Beispiele sind Umrichter für die Einspeisung regenerativ erzeugter Energie aus Wind und Sonne in das Stromnetz oder die Übertragung großer Mengen elektrischer Energie über weite Strecken mit Hochspannungs-Gleichstrom-Übertragung.

Dabei werden die Anforderungen an Motoren und Leistungselektronik in der Energie- und Antriebstechnik immer anspruchsvoller. Steigende Anforderungen hinsichtlich Leistungsdichte, Funktionalität und nicht zuletzt Energieeffizienz sind dafür verantwortlich. Die optimierte Auslegung eines gesamten Energie- oder Antriebssystems kann deshalb nur im interdisziplinären Gesamtkontext erfolgen. Dies umfasst die einzelnen Systemkomponenten (Energiespeicher, Leistungshalbleiter, Kühlung, elektrische Maschine, Getriebe etc.) und deren Optimierung hinsichtlich Gewicht, Wirkungsgrad, Kosten sowie die für eine optimale Performance erforderlichen Betriebsstrategien und Regelungsalgorithmen. Dabei erfordern neue Anwendungen oder veränderte Anforderungen oft auch völlig neue Lösungsansätze, die mit der am ETI vorhandenen Infrastruktur hinsichtlich Modellierung, Simulation und Validierung an Prototypen umfassend untersucht werden können.

Kompetenzen

  • Umrichterauslegung/-berechnung
  • Elektrische und Thermische Simulation
  • Qualifikation LV/MV-Leistungshalbleiter
  • Schaltungsentwicklung (Leistungs/Signalelektronik)
  • Regelungsverfahren (Netz- und Motorapplikationen)
  • Prototypen: Konstruktion, Bau, Prüfung
  • Prüfstandsbau

Mehr Informationen über die Kompetenzen und Ausstattung des Elektrotechnischen Instituts finden Sie hier.

Projekte

Eine Auswahl laufender und abgeschlossener Projekte finden Sie unter: Projekte